Rulon Brown joins Rock Lottery, Feb. 20 at The Crocodile

Rulon Brown takes part in Seattle Rock LotterySEATTLE ROCK LOTTERY 08
The Crocodile (2118 2nd Ave, Belltown)
Saturday, February 20, 2016
A Benefit for Totem Star
Doors open at 9pm, show starts promptly at 10pm
$10 advance / $15 at door (21+)
Hosted by Selena Whitaker-Paquiet

The Rock Lottery is simple, but effective. Twenty-five hand-picked musicians meet at 10:00AM at the evening’s performance venue. These volunteers are organized into five bands through a lottery-based chance selection. The five groups are released to practice at different locations. The musicians have twelve hours to agree upon a band name and create three to five songs (with a one cover song limit). The bands then return to the venue and perform what they have created in front of a waiting audience.

The twenty-five musicians included in this experiment are carefully selected in an attempt to represent a wide variety of musical styles. This event will bring together many facets of the music community that may seem incompatible, as well as musicians whose interests may conflict. The challenge for these participants is to go beyond their personal and musical differences and work together to create a unified group project that still contains the personal styles of each of its members.

Owuor Arunga (The Young Lions)
Lucy Atkinson (Kinski)
Jim Biggs (Black Nite Crash)
Adam Boehmer (Tenderfoot)
Rulon Brown (Rulon Brown Band)
Jeremy Buller (Bosque Brown, OK Sweetheart)
Nic Danielson (Ravenna Woods)
Taryn Dorsey (Wiscon)
Lupe Flores (Wild Powwers, Tacos!)
Annie Ford (The Annie Ford Band)
Mikey Gervais (Mikey and Matty)
Gary Palmer (Gems)
Dan Peters (Mudhoney, The Tripwires)
SassyBlack (Thee Satisfaction)
Grant Schroff (The Polyrhythmics)
Joe Slaby (Yves)
Otieno Terry (Otieno Terry)
Rachel Yoder (Seattle Modern Orchestra, Odd Partials)
And more to be announced…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.